SAFRINET comprises all SADC countries, namely: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Madagascar, although not a member of SADC, because of its close proximity, is an affiliate  and has been invited to participate fully in SAFRINET activities. Each country has a focal point, the National Co-ordinating Institute with a designated representative.

The network focal point is Southern African Centre for Co-operation in Agricultural Research and Training (SACCAR). However, SACCAR has appointed the Agricultural Research Council Plant Protection Research Institute, Pretoria, South Africa, to fulfil this function.

For the structure of BioNET-International go to:

Updated: 1 December 2000.